ART!

Fingers Art smugge

Art to me is anything you can imagine and portray outwardly with expression, passion, creative skill form painting, coloring, drawing, or sculpture, producing works to be appreciated primarily for their beauty or emotional power. It can also be shown through music, and dance. I love the fact that it can be shown through these different aspects, especially dance because it can tell a story of your own originality deep within the mind, body soul and spirit. 

from knowing what it is not to knowing what it will be as a finish product.

Arts and Craft

Growing up I always knew I wanted to dance. I didn’t know it was a part of Art until I joined a dance school and I was able to have the experience and explore the different skills. I was able to see all kinds of different people from different places with different abilities. I have dance with tall, short, male, felamles, bi sexual, trans gender etc. It never stopped me because I knew this was a passion of mine. I was going to make it something I desire to do. Now that I am older, I am thinking of opening my own dance school and have it open for any one from different cultures, backgrounds, race, class etc. I believe if I can bring this to my students in my classroom, I can bring it to the other children. It might help them to have the understanding of diversity and have an open mind with the different faces, languages etc. Live life despite the negative experiences they might face being around others not from their own backgrounds. It will allow them to have a better future as they mature and explore all that life has for them in the end. 

Praise dancing
African dance of Art
Chinese Dance or Art
Indian work of art through dance
Christian computer work of art through religion, ethnicity and diversity

Published by Shimmy

My name is Shimine pronounced "Shimane"/ "Shimaine". I am 30 years old and I am an Assistant Teacher at an Early Childhood Learning Center. I currently teach 2 year olds and I enjoy doing it with my all. I have a passion for children no matter their abilities. I have a 9 year old son, who enjoys playing video games and Basketball. I am very friendly, loving, caring, kind, out-going, a Christian and adventurous. My favorite food is Curry Chicken, Oxtail, Rice & Peas and salads! I love to sing, dance, and be happy. My favorite type of music is Gospel. I am a Dance Lead Teacher at my church, a Choir director and a Youth Leader as well. In my free time I enjoy spending time with my love ones, especially my fiancé and my son! I also like to watch a lot of "Lifetime movies" and travel. I am the life of the party in my family and among my friends. Anything else you can always ask me in the comment.

6 thoughts on “ART!

  1. Posters of artists and/or their work are a great way to represent diversity and you have chosen some really great ones. There are also many quotes or statements that explicitly say your room is a safe space for all people. Art is quite personal and can be expressed and viewed in a number of ways. I really can relate to your picture of the dancers because, when you imagine art you may think of a still image, but with dance it’s the movement that spreads out the message about your background and culture. Thank you for sharing your art.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shimmy, I love that you shared a little bit more about yourself in this blog. Art is an act of expression for sure! I was raised in a home of singers, been using the gift ever since. One thing I am not comfortable with is dancing, I have rhythm but can’t keep up with the moves. Ha! How long have you been dancing? I would love to witness your work, please share any upcoming performances if possible. Thanks for the blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, thanks for reading and asking these questions. I get very excited whenim asked about dance or anything in general that I am very passionate about. Well I have been dancing since I was 8 years old. I attended a national school of dance when I was 10 years old and I have never stopped since. I came to America and I didn’t know what I wanted to do because I didn’t know much people, but I started going to church and I turned it into a praise dance. I am hoping that in my near future I am able to open a studio for all race and people who are nor financially able too can still be able to afford to also express themselves too. It is also a great therapy ! It just takes a little practice and you will get it together eventually. i thought I didn’t have the moves but came to find out I got it all together. I also have singers in my family so I do singing and dancing. I model as well, but that one was definitely on a very long pause, and that’s ok because I know one day I will get the chance to get back to it. When your called to do things there’s no stopping. For me to upload my dances would take me a while because I am not a computer tech but hopefully one day when you see the name you will remember we took courses together 🙂

      Like

  3. Dear Shimine

    Art is essential to different cultures. The old cliche says, ” a picture is worth a thousand words.” I believe that it’s worth more than a thousand words. Art gives expressions that words can not express. The art that you have chosen captures the greatness that each culture has, and it shows us the excellence in each culture. I personally like the art puzzle piece, it shows how everything comes together, and every part has a superior fit. What is your favorite art piece that you posted, and why?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Aubrey, thank you for reading and posting your questions. I honestly cannot tell you which one I love the most because I do believe they all speak deeply to me, hence the reason I picked those in particular. The different culture and the dances show was chosen because I do dance and represent all those cultural backgrounds and as you mention about the puzzle is exactly what I was going for with everything coming together to make one.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started