Emotional Impact … UNICEF

UNICEF means the United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund, and it is not only in the United States of America but worldwide. Doing my research, I’ve come across countries where children matter in heart and first hand. I decided to do Haiti because of the advantages at a disadvantage with this country. Compared to a human, when you are poor or down, others above you tend to treat you as worthless because you have less to offer. There is a saying my grandmother always told me “never kick a dog when he is down. He just might become the underdog.” I feel like it’s the same thing for Haiti and other third-world countries. You never know when they will one day rise to the occasion. 

I love and enjoy helping others, and if I can get the chance to help another country become wealthy. I would to the best of my ability. Facing hardship in a country is not the easiest thing to do. It is difficult and causes a lot of strain on that country, economically, physically, etc. Supporting Haiti in whatever ways possible would be a good start to level up. Even if it means through fundraisers such as clothes, foods, hygiene products, whatever little still is better than nothing at all. They are humans and have a daily life just like us who think we have it all together, but we are in poverty in lower levels of our countries dealing with other challenges such as mental illnesses and storms, leaving us homeless and hungry. 

Haiti has been hit with so many earthquakes leaving their families and loved ones without food, clean water, and children aren’t able to have a proper education. This is a sad situation with limited resources and helps to lend to this country. It’s such a small country but requires a lot of help to get off the ground positively. Reading about the earthquakes, it was mentioned that the buildings are not that stable and any day they can collapse. Educators are trying their best to put children in the right stands of receiving a good education even if it means teaching in the streets in little groups. The fact that these people, especially the younger children have to be suffering from this kind of trauma can have a toll on them and their developmental aspect in life. 

As a mother, educator, or just a human being in general it’s okay to have feelings and a mindset towards children, their feelings, emotions, and their living situations. We are not with them when they leave our care so we might not know anything beyond what we know and see when with them. However, paying attention to their background or situations should be in their best interest. 

Reference 

UNICEF (2011). Retrieved from: http://www.unicef.org/infobycountry/

Published by Shimmy

My name is Shimine pronounced "Shimane"/ "Shimaine". I am 30 years old and I am an Assistant Teacher at an Early Childhood Learning Center. I currently teach 2 year olds and I enjoy doing it with my all. I have a passion for children no matter their abilities. I have a 9 year old son, who enjoys playing video games and Basketball. I am very friendly, loving, caring, kind, out-going, a Christian and adventurous. My favorite food is Curry Chicken, Oxtail, Rice & Peas and salads! I love to sing, dance, and be happy. My favorite type of music is Gospel. I am a Dance Lead Teacher at my church, a Choir director and a Youth Leader as well. In my free time I enjoy spending time with my love ones, especially my fiancé and my son! I also like to watch a lot of "Lifetime movies" and travel. I am the life of the party in my family and among my friends. Anything else you can always ask me in the comment.

7 thoughts on “Emotional Impact … UNICEF

  1. It is so sad to see innocent children suffer the way they do. Most heartbreaking of all is the suffering of a child. Children are as close to innocence as we ever see in this world, and for them to suffer is truly tragic. We as adults must be there to support children in every way that we can. We can help by donating items that children and their families need.

    Every child has the right to grow up in a safe and inclusive environment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shimine, I researched Haiti as well. There is a great deal of concern especially in the lives of children. Research tells us that there is great concern and more conversations are occurring in various states, cities, and countries to figure out what can be done to support them. There is a need to put more emphasis on this matter and become more in tune with the signs and what steps to take to better assist those individuals that may be suffering from all things trauma. In Haiti there has always been a concern about poverty, birth defects and of course malnutrition but nothing seems to be changing. What will it take to make sure children always have their needs met?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, honestly I think consistent support. I know they are getting support here and there, but there is never such a thing as too much support. The more, the merry if you ask me.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Shimine,
    I loved your quote at the end of your blog. Being a decent human being. It’s ok that we have these types of feelings. I have always said that children suffer far more than their parents. I did not research Hatti. However, I have been looking at the conditions over there for several years. I am taken aback because I was under the impression that aide was being sent to the country to counteract the poverty level in that country.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Aubrey, things are sent. However, it makes no sense to send now and think that will last a lifetime. The more support, the better. If you will be lending and helping hand, it has to be a committed and constant deal. No one wants to start something all hot and sweaty and not finish it. Then what is their purpose, aim, and agenda?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Shimine, great blog! My husband has several friends that he know from the service that are from Haiti. They are proud people. when the earthquakes hit he made sure he called to check in on them and their families. I am happy for him and the friends that he has. The one thing that messes my head up is how we can send so much supplies but have yet sent anything to help rebuild. Every child needs a proper education. In order to do so they need buildings. Its our time as a country to help people on a major level and not the bar minimum.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started