Learning Reflection…

An explanation of my most passionate hope for your future as an early childhood professional and for the children and families with whom you work or will work would be to continue to feel energized and passionate about teaching despite all the negative growth and development in the field. My passion is to help children achieve better education for their future endeavors. Having a committed passion for the early childhood profession, which demonstrates in all aspects of my work with, and on behalf of, children, families, and the early childhood field continues to enhance my committed passion to certain concepts, that expose children, their families and the early childhood field to a better outcome of their lives. Once I have this level of understanding for the children, their families, and the field, it would place me in a greater position of my Professional passion, dream, aspiration, and goals for children, their families, and their development.

I also want to stay embracing diversity in the classroom with great determination to improve Early childhood education. I am willing to make a difference to advance my career not only as a teacher but to become an advocate to the children, their families, and the community at large. I want to be able to motivate others to help them in areas they may be struggling with and be a positive force in the lives of children and their families. I will use my dreams, aspirations, and faith to benefit, encourage, and inspire others, and have a burning desire to help children and their families. My motivation comes from me wanting to see others happy and comfortable enough to achieve and be successful. I became a teacher because I wanted to show compassion, diversity, and make a difference not only for myself but also for the children of today. I am inspired and very optimistic that I can and will be the one to make the difference and also be the difference in and out of my classroom. I will support innovative thinking and celebrate each child’s individuality to the best of my ability. 

I want to be able to encourage and positively influence the next generation of children and families. I aim to become an early childhood teacher, but supporting diversity in children and their families will be my main focus. As a teacher, I will be able to show them that they can succeed no matter what life throws at them because children should not be pushed aside; because they are incapable of learning due to a language barrier or disability. I will keep being the motivator towards my goals, to help ensure teaching is inclusive of all children, no matter their first language, cultural background, skills, or upbringing. According to Derman-Sparks, 2010, “It is our job to listen and learn as well as talk and initiate the search for common ground solutions to specific differences (Derman-Sparks & Olsen Edwards, 2010). This will give me a better vision of where I might be in a few years and I will be able to set out both short-term and long-term goals, striving to achieve them all. 

Typing my final blog for this class, I want to first thank Dr. Bird-Pickens for all the positive feedback she has given me to improve my assignments every time.  With these, I was able to get better every time and I know it will also help me along the way for the other course and times ahead. To my colleagues, thank you as well for the opportunity to gain so much more knowledge over the past 8 weeks. It is always a pleasure getting to know new individuals and building relationships, partnerships, and even friendships along the way. I know we do not know each other on a personal level, nevertheless, the journey was still a good one in getting to know you virtually. As we continue on this journey in the education field for our younger generation, I pray that all our hard work, dreams, goals, and aspirations carry on with us to the end. Continue to strive and advocate as strong educators. This is just the beginning and not the end of the road. 

Reference 

Derman-Sparks, L., & Edwards, J.O. (2010). Anti-bias education for young children and ourselves. Washington, DC: National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC).

Published by Shimmy

My name is Shimine pronounced "Shimane"/ "Shimaine". I am 30 years old and I am an Assistant Teacher at an Early Childhood Learning Center. I currently teach 2 year olds and I enjoy doing it with my all. I have a passion for children no matter their abilities. I have a 9 year old son, who enjoys playing video games and Basketball. I am very friendly, loving, caring, kind, out-going, a Christian and adventurous. My favorite food is Curry Chicken, Oxtail, Rice & Peas and salads! I love to sing, dance, and be happy. My favorite type of music is Gospel. I am a Dance Lead Teacher at my church, a Choir director and a Youth Leader as well. In my free time I enjoy spending time with my love ones, especially my fiancé and my son! I also like to watch a lot of "Lifetime movies" and travel. I am the life of the party in my family and among my friends. Anything else you can always ask me in the comment.

5 thoughts on “Learning Reflection…

  1. Shimmy, you have been an inspiration over the past few weeks, keep striving for nothing but greatness! I leave you with the quote by Robert Fulghum “we could learn a lot from crayons, some are sharp, some are pretty, some are dull, while others bright, some have weird names, but they all have learned to live together in the same box. We have to be prepared to show children that their cultures, skin tone, language and ways of life are just as beautiful as they are.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing your post.

    I have enjoyed reading your Blogs. Learning about diversity these past weeks has taught me not to ignore the differences among our children and families. It has been a pleasure seeing and reading all your wonderful ideas and suggestions. Keep up the excellent work.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Shimine,
    Your blogs are very unique, and inspiring. Reading your blogs has made me see things in a different perspective. I look forward to reading more great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started